When you are injured at work in Maryland, there are specific statutory deadlines that injured workers must comply with to be eligible for workers compensation benefits. Failure to adhere to the statutory deadlines can have a devasating impact on your ability to collect benefits for your work injury.
Notice of Injury to the Employer
When injured on the job, an injured workers must provide notice of injury to the employer. In Maryland, an injured worker must provide notice of injury to the employer within 10 days of the date of injury. Likewise, if the work injury resulted in an unfortunate death of the injured worker, notice must be given to the employer within 30 days of the date of the employee’s death.
When an employee is alleging an occupational disease injury, an employee must provide notice of injury within one year from the date the employee knew or had good reason to know of the occupational disease injury.
Failure to give notice within the time frames listed above will bar a claim for compensation. The Commission may grant excuse on sufficient grounds, but that burden is difficult to meet. Easy way to avoid this is to report the injury immediately to your supervisor, manager, or human resources department. When reporting the injury, explain when the injury occurred, how the injury occurred, where the injury occurred, and what body parts were injured. Next step is to call Mooney Law right away for a FREE CONSULTATION, so we can promptly file your claim with the Commission.
Deadlines to file a Claim with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission
Notice and actually filing a claim with the Commission are two separate requirements. In order to seek compensation for a Maryland work injury, an injured worker must file a claim with the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Commission. There are statutory deadlines with filing a claim as well. The rule in Maryland is an injured worker should file a claim with the Commission within 60 days of the date of injury. Failure to file the claim within 2 years of the date of injury would effectively bar your claim for benefits. For an accidental injury, a claim must be filed for death benefits within 18 months of the date of death.
The statutory deadline for an occupational disease injury is two years. An injured worker must file a claim within 2 years from the date of disablement or from the date the injured worker has actual knowledge. A claim must be filed within 2 years of the date of death, from a death resulting from an occupational disease.
An east way to comply with the all statutory deadlines is to call Mooney Law for a FREE consultation. We will meet with you, explain the process, and file the claim on your behalf. If you have been injure don the job in Maryland, trusts to proven and experienced attorneys at Mooney Law. Call today at 833-MOONEYLAW or 717-200-HELP or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. For more information on Maryland Workers Comp, visit us on the web.